UPSC Eligibility Criteria 2023, Check Age Limit & Educational Qualifications

UPSC Eligibility Criteria 2023

The following piece goes into great detail to explain the entire UPSC eligibility criteria 2023 for the IAS exam. The first step in the IAS preparation process is to gain a thorough understanding of the exam eligibility requirements. This article discusses the UPSC Age Limit and IAS Eligibility for the 2023 Civil Services Exam.

The commission published the UPSC notification for 2023 on February 1st. The Preliminaries 2023 were scheduled for May 28, 2023.

Recent Update on UPSC Eligibility

On February 1st 2023, the UPSC 2023 Notification was released. The eligibility requirements are listed in this article for interested candidates who wish to apply this year.

It has frequently been reported that candidates who skipped their final opportunity to sit for the civil services exams in 2020 will have a second chance in UPSC 2021. The Central government recently received permission from the Supreme Court to take a ‘lenient view’ on this appeal. The court refuted giving the federal government any such instructions, though. “We are not expressing any opinion regarding resolution,” the Court stated.

Age Limit for UPSC Exam 2023

The candidates must have reached the age of 21 and be under 32 on August 1, 2023, which means they must have been born between August 2, 1990, and August 1, 2001, inclusive. Details about UPSC Age Limit 2023 will be included in the official notification. The official notification will contain information on the age requirements for the 2023 UPSC Exam.

The Civil Services Age Limit is a crucial component of the eligibility requirements. Therefore, before submitting an online application for the UPSC Exam, candidates should confirm the age requirement for the IAS exam.

Age Relaxation & Number of Attempts for IAS Eligibility

According to the IAS Eligibility for Defence Servicemen, those who become disabled while serving in a conflict zone or during hostilities with a foreign nation are given a special exemption from the age requirement for civil service.

According to the IAS Eligibility, ECOs and SSCOs who have finished a five-year initial period of military service as of 1 August 2023 are eligible for a five-year age relaxation, provided that their assignment has been raised beyond five years and that the Ministry of Defence has issued a certificate stating that they are eligible to apply for civil employment and that they will be released with three months’ notice following their selection from the date they receive an offer of appointment.

Educational Qualifications for UPSC 2023

Below are the various academic requirements listed in accordance with the UPSC Eligibility Criteria 2023:

  • The candidate must hold a degree from a government-recognized university or have an equivalent qualification to sit for the UPSC exam.
  • Additionally eligible to take the UPSC preliminary examination are candidates who are in their final year or who are awaiting results. All such candidates who plan to sit for IAS exams must submit documentation of their success in the relevant test along with their application for the main IAS exam.
  • Candidates with professional and technical credentials that the government has recognised as being on par with professional and technical degrees.
  • IAS is also open to medical students who graduated from the final year of their MBBS programme but have not yet finished their internship. However, a certificate of course completion (which includes an internship) from the relevant University/Institution authority must be submitted in addition to the Main Examination application.

Nationality Requirements for UPSC 2023

The candidate must be an Indian national for IAS and IPS.

For all other services:

The applicant must be one of the following:

  1. an Indian citizen,
  2. a subject of Nepal,
  3. a subject of Bhutan, 4. a Tibetan refugee who entered India prior to January 1, 1962 with the intention of settling permanently there, or
  4. a person of Indian origin (PIO), who migrated from one of the following countries: Pakistan, Burma, Sri Lanka, Kenya, Uganda, the United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia, Malawi, Ethiopia, Zaire, or Vietnam with the intention of settling permanently in India.

Candidates who fall under categories (2), (3), (4), and (5) must present an eligibility certificate from the Indian government. Such candidates may sit for the exam prior to receiving the certificate of eligibility, but they will only receive an offer of employment once the certificate has been issued by the Government of India.

Important Point: A person who falls under categories (2), (3), or (4) is not qualified to be appointed to the Indian Foreign Service (IFS).

A Recap of UPSC Eligibility Criteria 2023

A summary of the IAS eligibility criteria 2023, including the UPSC maximum age limit, the number of attempts, relaxations, and more, is provided below. To be eligible to sit for the UPSC IAS Exam, candidates must fulfil the following requirements:

  • Nationality requirements for the IAS exam include being an Indian citizen, someone of Indian ancestry, or a subject of Nepal, Bhutan, or Tibet who had been settled in India prior to January 1, 1962.
  • Candidates for the IAS exam must possess a graduate degree from an accredited university.
  • The minimum age requirement for the UPSC Civil Services Exam is 21 years old, and the maximum age is 32 years old.

Concerning UPSC Eligibility Questions

 Q What is the IAS Exam’s maximum age?

A candidate from the General category who is taking the UPSC preliminary examinations cannot have turned 32 as of August 1 of that year. Candidates from other categories are exempt from the maximum age requirement. The official notification issued by the conducting body clearly states the age restriction for UPSC CSE. Prior to submitting an application for the exam, candidates must carefully review the same.

Q How many times can you take the IAS exam?

A candidate for the general category or EWS has six chances to pass the UPSC IAS exam. OBC candidates are limited to nine attempts; SC/ST candidates are not limited in this regard and may take the exam as many times as they want until they reach the maximum age. General and OBC physically disabled candidates have nine attempts, while EWS category candidates with benchmark disabilities have nine attempts. Candidates from the SC/ST who are physically disabled are not limited in the number of tries.


This is everything a candidates needs to fulfil and fit in UPSC eligibility criteria 2023. Follow these basic requirements and do the best in your exam.


Leave a Comment

Share via
Copy link